### COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

121 North LaSalle Street, Chicago, Illinois Regular Meeting, 1:00 PM June 13, 2023

#### **MEETING MINUTES**

### I. ROLL CALL OF COMMISSIONERS

Chairwoman Hatten Butler called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. and then undertook a call of the roll to establish the presence of a quorum.

#### Present

Gwendolyn Hatten Butler, Chair Chris Wheat, Secretary Robert Buford Maurice Cox Dwight Curtis Leslie Davis Jacqueline Gomez Latasha Thomas

#### Absent

Grace Chan McKibben Cornelius Griggs

On February 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2023, in response to the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency, Governor Pritzker renewed the Executive Order declaring that all counties in the State of Illinois were in a disaster area. Section 7 of the Illinois Open Meetings Act allows the CDC -- along with other City meeting, the Chairwoman determined that an in-person meeting was not prudent or practical, and thus issued "Emergency Rules Governing the Conduct of Remote Public Commission Meetings and Provisions for Remote Public Participation" to conduct the meeting remotely on Zoom. The meeting was available to be viewed by the public via live stream through the CDC website.

The CDC provided an opportunity for members of the public to submit written comments, up to twenty-four (24) hours prior to the meeting, through the CDC website. Members of the public wishing to speak on a matter were also given an opportunity to register in advance, also up to 24 hours before the meeting. No members of the public provided written comments or registered to speak at the meeting.

## II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF THE JANUARY 10th MEETING

Motioned by Commissioner Chan McKibben, Seconded by Commissioner Trevino Approved 6-0-5: Yeas: Butler, Wheat, Chan McKibben, Cox, Thomas , Trevino Abstain/Not Present: Bufford, Curtis, Davis, Gomez, Griggs.

III. ELECTION OF COMMISSION'S VICE-CHAIR Motioned by Commissioner Cox to Nominate Secretary Wheat to fill the Vice Chair vacancy.

Seconded by Commissioner Trevino; Approved 4-0-6: Yeas: Butler, Chan McKibben, Cox, Trevino Abstain/Not Present: Bufford, Curtis, Davis, Gomez, Griggs, Thomas, Commissioner Wheat is elected Vice Chairman of the CDC.

#### IV. ELECTION OF COMMISSION'S SECRETARY

Motioned by Commissioner Davis to Nominate Commissioner Chan McKibben to fill the Secretary vacancy. Seconded by Commissioner Trevino Approved 4-0-6: Yeas: Butler, Chan McKibben, Cox, Trevino Abstain/Not Present: Bufford, Curtis, Davis, Gomez, Griggs, Thomas, Wheat Commissioner Chan McKibben is elected Secretary of the CDC.

## V. NEW BUSINESS

# A. PROPOSED MODIFICATION TO THE CDC BYLAWS REGARDING THE DUTIES OF THE CDC CHAIRMAN

Except for approval an amendment to Article II. Section 2 of the CDC Bylaws allowing the Chairman to appoint another member of the Commission to temporarily serve as the Chairman in the absence, or recusal by both the Chairman and Vice Chairman.

Motioned by Commissioner Thomas. Seconded by Commissioner Cox Approved 6-0-5: Butler, Wheat, Chan McKibben, Cox, Thomas, Trevino. Abstain/Not Present: Buford, Curtis, Davis; Gomez, Griggs. William Jeffries 23-CDC-06

## B. PILSEN TIF REDEVELOPMENT PROJECT AREA (WARD 25)

Request authority to acquire the property located at 902 W 18<sup>th</sup> Street and 947 W. 16<sup>th</sup> Street in the Pilsen Tax Increment Financing Redevelopment Project Area.

Motioned by Commissioner Trevino; Seconded by Commissioner Cox Approved 7-0-4: Butler, Wheat, Chan McKibben, Cox, Davis, Thomas, Trevino. Abstain/Not Present: Curtis, Gomez, Griggs,.

Ernest Bellamy 23-CDC-07

# C MADISON/AUSTIN CORRIDOR TIF REDEVELOPMENT PROJECT AREA (WARD 28)

Request authority to acquire the property located at 3801-09 W. Madison Street, 3843 W. Madison Street, 3849 W. Madison Street, and 3851 W. Madison Street in the Madison/Austin Corridor Tax Increment Financing Redevelopment Project.

Motioned by Commissioner Trevino; Seconded by Commissioner Cox Approved 7-0-4: Butler, Wheat, Chan McKibben, Cox, Davis, Thomas, Trevino. Abstain/Not Present: Curtis, Gomez, Griggs, Gomez.

Ernest Bellamy 23-CDC-08

Motioned by Commissioner Thomas. Seconded by Commissioner Cox Approved 7-0-2 Yeas: Wheat, Buford, Chan McKibben, Cox, Davis, Gomez, Thomas, Trevino, Hatten Butler. Abstain/Not Present: Curtis, Griggs.

#### VI. ADJOURMENT